Five things you need to know about Flag Day

  • Published
  • By Senior Airman Jesse Lopez
  • 97th Air Mobility Wing Public Affairs
Flag Day commemorates the adoption of the U.S. flag in 1777. In 1916, President Woodrow Wilson issued a proclamation that officially established June 14 as Flag Day. Here are five things you need to know about Flag Day.

#1 -The stripes represent the 13 original colonies, and the stars represent the 50 states.

#2 - The colors of the U.S. flag have meaning. Red stands for hardiness and valor. White symbolizes purity and innocence. Blue represents vigilance, perseverance and justice. The U.S. Color Association defined the official flag colors as white, Old Glory Red and Old Glory Blue, colors that are only able to be reproduced on cloth.

#3 - There are specific rules for the display of the flag, including:
■The flag should be displayed from sunrise to sunset.
■If the flag is displayed at night it should be illuminated.
■The flag should never be flown in bad weather
■The flag can only be flown upside down to signal distress
■The flag should be raised quickly and lowered ceremoniously.
■No other flag can be placed above it.

#4 - There are six U.S. flags on the moon. They were planted by crews from Apollo 11, 12, 14, 15, 16 and 17.

#5 - According to the U.S. Flag Code website, it's a myth that the flag must be burned if it touches the ground. According to the code, it must be burned if it's damaged and is no longer suitable for flying.